i have nothing new to add

Starting September 18, 2011, I will be have the opportunity to teach on a regular basis for my church (South Shores Church, Dana Point, CA) at our Sunday evening worship service. I am very excited about this for many reasons, but there are specifically two I want to share with you: 1) I have had a desire to help people grab hold of the truth of God’s Word since I was a wee lad in high school, and 2) I’ll get to start with the book of Ephesians, a brilliant letter by the Apostle Paul that sheds light on the cosmic significance of God’s plan, Christ’s work and this odd organism known as the church. Between these two reasons (and many more), I am very excited (and a little anxious) for what God has in store for us this next season.

So, why this blog? What do I have to add?

Nothing.

Nothing new, at least. The point of this blog isn’t to share my incredible new ideas or innovative thoughts in the area of faith, living, or the Bible, because, well, it has all been said before by people far smarter and more eloquent than myself. The point of this blog is to give me a place to share some of the extras (the stuff that I come across as I study and read that just won’t quite fit in my message), or the wonderings (the questions I have as I wrestle with appropriating the truth of this old document into my own life), and maybe even some things that can help take the study deeper (resources, related material, other better sermons, etc.).

I’m not starting a blog because I have anything to add, but because I want to help myself and my friends to dwell (think/meditate) on the right kinds of things, so that Christ may dwell (live) in us. Hopefully, one or two of you might even read more than just this post, but remember… if in everything I write you find nothing new, don’t forget, nothing new is exactly what I promised.

My prayer:

For this reason I kneel before the Father, from whom his whole family in heaven and on earth derives its name. I pray that out of his glorious riches he may strengthen you with power through his Spirit in your inner being, so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith. And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, may have power, together with all the saints, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge—that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God. Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen. [Ephesians 3:14-21]

Leave a Reply

